b&w rtp mpo web page photo
b&w mpo logo sml

A Metropolitan Planning Organization, MPO is a federally mandated transportation policy making organization comprised of representatives of transportation authorities and local government that oversee the metropolitan transportation planning process.

  • Determined by Census Population โ€“ Urbanized area > 50,000
  • Pioneer Valley Joint Transportation Committee (JTC) is the recommending body to the Pioneer Valley MPO.
  • The transportation section is the staff for the MPO.

Pioneer Valley MPO Members

James Tesler - Secretary and CEO of MassDOT
Jonathan Gulliver - Administrator of MassDOT Highway Division
Walter Gunn - Chairman of the PVPC Executive Committee
Douglas Slaughter - Chairman of the PVTA Advisory Board
Mayor John Vieau - Mayor of Chicopee
Mayor Dominic Sarno - Mayor of Springfield
Mayor William Reichelt - Mayor of West Springfield
Mayor Nicole LaChapelle - Mayor of Easthampton
James Barry - Belchertown Select Board
Roger Fuller - Chesterfield Select Board
Richard Sullivan - Economic Development Council of Western Mass

Mayor Joshua Garcia - Mayor of Holyoke
Mark Gold - Longmeadow Select Board

Ex-Officio (non-Voting)
Jeff McEwen - Federal Highway Administration
Peter Butler - Federal Transit Administration
Sandra Sheehan - Administrator of the Pioneer Valley Transit Authority
Tina Cote - Administrator of the Franklin Region Transit Authority
William Dwyer - Chairman - Joint Transportation Committee